What states honor PA license to carry firearms? – It’s important to note that not all states honor reciprocity agreements. Typically, a permit is only honored if the person possesses a valid concealed handgun license in the state of issue. Pennsylvania, for example, has strict gun laws. Philadelphia even has a city ordinance against carrying a firearm in public parks. However, the state does honor reciprocity agreements when they exist.
Pennsylvania’s attorney general has a reciprocity list for non-resident CCW licenses. The list is available on his website. States with reciprocity agreements with Pennsylvania are recognized by the state. Other states that do not have reciprocity agreements with PA include Arizona, Florida, Mississippi, Utah, and Florida. The only exception is North Dakota, which only honors a class 1 permit that requires the person to be at least 21 years old.
Non-residents of Pennsylvania may obtain a PA License by submitting an application. However, the license can only be issued if the applicant is a Pennsylvania resident and not a non-resident of another state. If you are a non-resident of Pennsylvania, you can obtain a license by presenting your license/permit issued by your state. However, if you are a resident of another state, you can apply for a license from the Pennsylvania Department of State and have it honored.
The Pennsylvania gun laws allow you to carry a loaded firearm in your car if you have a PA license to carry a firearm. If you do not have a PA license, you can transport an unloaded weapon but you should always keep the weapon out of reach. If you are asked by the police, make sure to lock the firearm in the trunk or a locked box. The law requires you to disclose the firearm when asked by the police, but only if they ask in the performance of their official duties.
Although there are no reciprocity agreements between states, Pennsylvania has granted its authority to the Commonwealth to enter such agreements. Under the reciprocity agreements, Pennsylvania residents’ concealed carry licenses are recognized in the same way as those issued in other states. You should contact each state to find out if your license is recognized in their state. If it does, make sure to contact the state and ask about any differences between the two laws.
To obtain a license to carry a concealed firearm, you must apply in person to your local sheriff’s office. You must be at least 21 years old and free of any criminal history. You must also have no traits that disqualify you from receiving the permit. You must complete the application and submit it to the sheriff or city chief of police. A background check will be conducted within 45 days of submitting the application.